The Minister of Public Works is responsible to Parliament for the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The Secretary of State and Registrar General of Canada is the official medium of communication with the Throne through the Governor General, and is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada and of the Privy Seal of the Governor General. He is responsible for the preparation and tabling of returns in Parliament. He administers legislation relating to patents of invention, trade marks, industrial designs, timber marking, copyright, companies, boards of trade, the registration of trade unions, public officers, public documents and governmental and parliamentary translations. He is also the Custodian of Enemy Property.

The Secretary of State has certain responsibilities with respect to civilian decorations, precedence and ceremonial. The Committee on the use of Parliament Hill and the National War Memorial falls within his purview. He is the Minister of the Department of Public Printing and Stationery and the spokesman in Cabinet and Parliament for the Civil Service Commission and the Chief

Electoral Officer.

Department of Trade and Commerce.--The Department of Trade and Commerce was established by Act of Parliament on June 23, 1887, but did not function until Dec. 5, 1892, when an Order in Council to this effect was passed. Before the formation of the Department, assistance in the development of Canada's external trade was provided by eight Canadian Commercial Agents—five in the West Indies, two in Great Britain and one in France—who served on a parttime basis and were responsible to the Minister of Finance. In 1895 a Canadian Commercial Agent was appointed at Sydney, Australia, as the first full-time salaried Agent of the Department.

The framework of the present Trade Commissioner Service emerged during the next decade or so, the Commercial Agents gradually giving place to career Trade Commissioners. now 126 Trade Commissioners serving at Headquarters and abroad in 58 posts (including Assistant Trade Commissioners and agricultural, fisheries and timber specialists). Where Trade Commissioners are members of a mission maintained by the Department of External Affairs they hold diplomatic status and are known as Commercial Counsellors or Commercial Secretaries.

The Department provides a wide range of services to Canadian businessmen. It comprises: the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service, Commodities Branch (including the Transportation and Trade Services Division), Agriculture and Fisheries Branch, International Trade Relations Branch, Trade Publicity Branch, Industrial Development Branch, Small Business Branch, Economics Branch, Economics Branch, Economics Branch, Economic Branch, Ec

The following boards, commissions, Crown corporations and agencies report to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce—seven of them through his capacity as Chairman of the Privy Council Committee on Scientific and Industrial Research: Board of Grain Commissioners, Canadian Wheat Board, Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Export Credits Insurance Corporation, Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation, Atomic Energy Control Board, Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Canadian Patents and Development Limited, National Research Council, Eldorado Mining and Refining Company Limited, Eldorado Aviation Limited, and Northern Transportation Company Limited.

Department of Transport.—The Department was created on Nov. 2, 1936, from the former Departments of Marine, and Railways and Canals, and the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence (R.S.C. 1952, c. 79).

The work of the Department consists of four main Services: Marine, Air, Canals and Railways. The work of the Marine Service includes aids to navigation, nautical and pilotage services, marine agencies, steamship inspection and floating equipment and direct supervision over 300 public harbours; eight other harbours come under supervision of the Department but are administered by commissions. Air Services cover the operation of civil aviation, meteorological and telecommunication branches. The latter includes the administration and regulation of radar, radio marine and radio aeronautical aids to navigation and communication by wire and by government telegraph and telephone. The Canal Service has jurisdiction over the canals and canalized waterways of Canada. These include the main or primary canals on the St. Lawrence River and Great Lakes and a number of subsidiary or secondary canals.

Other services of the Department are in connection with the Government-owned companies: the Canadian National Railways, Hudson Bay Railway, Canadian Government Railways, Canadian National (West Indies) Steamships, and the Prince Edward Island Ferry and Terminals.

The Minister of Transport is responsible to Parliament for the following boards and commissions: the Air Transport Board; Board of Transport Commissioners; Canadian Maritime Commission; National Harbours Board; Park Steamship Company Limited; the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority; the Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation; and Trans-Canada Air Lines.

Department of Veterans Affairs.—This Department, established in 1944 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 80), is concerned exclusively with the welfare of veterans and includes medical, dental and welfare services, land settlement and prosthetic services and insurance. The Veterans' Bureau assists veterans in the preparation and presentation of pension claims.

The Minister of Veterans Affairs is also responsible for the Canadian Pension Commission and the War Veterans Allowance Board. The Department has administrative offices in all the larger cities across Canada and at London, England.